My Spouse Supports Me In My Business

Angela Henry
2 min readMar 12, 2021

--

And it helps so much!

Image by Sonam Prajapati from Pixabay

Starting a business whether online or a brick and mortar store is not an easy decision to make or an easy thing to accomplish. I’m very much aware of the statistics when it comes to start up businesses but I am also determined by the grace of God to be one of the ones that make it! The obstacles that face new business owners are not few and navigating through them all successfully will only prove to produce a profitable business.

Supportive. When I first told my husband that I wanted to do this, he never hesitated to encourage me to do it. Having his support eased the fears that were in my mind. Not only was he emotionally supportive, but he sat down with me to look at our finances to come up with a plan to start. And with the unexpected expenses that arise, he is willing to come up with solutions without having it effect our family negatively. When I’ve had a challenging day, he allows me to share my thoughts without interruption until I feel better. I can’t tell you how much that means!

He can fix my computer issues! Now I know not everyone will be able to say this, but thankfully my husband has some tech skills that have really come in handy the past few months. I am not computer savvy at all, so knowing I can go to him and not have to hire someone is amazing. When my computer files all erased, he was the one that was able to restore them.

He sees what needs to be done — and does it. Building a business is time consuming. My children are home doing online school so my time in the day is limited. If he comes home from work and sees dishes, or the house is a bit untidy, he jumps right in and helps out. We work as a team. When he’s busy doing his side business, I pick up the slack and vice versa. You need to be able to work together to accomplish goals.

Marriage is a partnership that is not just for companionship or intimacy. Having someone in your corner will help your journey that much lighter and more enjoyable.

--

--

Angela Henry

Wife and Mom to three wonderful kids. Believer. Entrepreneur